Which of these countries has two capitals?

Which of these countries has two capitals?


Bolivia is one of just a handful of countries around the world to have two capitals. Named after Simón Boílvar, who helped lead the country to independence from the Spanish Empire in 1825, Bolivia is a landlocked South American country that’s home to 11.5 million people.

Officially named the Plurinational State of Bolivia, Bolivia’s official seat of government is in La Paz, while Sucre is the legal (constitutional) capital and the seat of the judiciary. Sucre was the first capital after independence from Spain, but after a period of political upheaval, an agreement was made in 1899 to share power between the two cities.

Bolivia certainly lives up to its “plurinational moniker,” too — although Spanish is the official language, the country has at least 37 native languages, including Quechua, Aymara, and Guarani.

Answer: The correct answer is Bolivia

[email-subscribers-form id="1"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.